The ISM is a consortium of nine universities founded in 1991 by the four Montreal universities. The administrative structure of the ISM comprises: a director, a steering committee and an administrative council. Everyday affairs of the Institute are handled by the Director and the Administrative Director.

Steering Committee


  • Christian Agbobli, Vice-Rector (Research), UQAM
  • Caroline Aubé, Director (Research), HEC Montréal
  • Eugénie Brouillet, Vice-Rector (Research), Université Laval
  • Sébastien Charles, Vice-Rector (Research and Development), UQTR
  • Marie-Josée Hébert, Vice-Rector (Research), Université de Montréal
  • Christopher P. Manfredi, Vice-Principal (Academic), McGill
  • Michele Murray, Dean (Arts and Science), Bishop's
  • Jean-Pierre Perreault, Vice-Rector (Research), Université de Sherbrooke
  • Paula Wood Adams, Interim Vice-President (Research and Graduate Studies), Concordia


Former ISM Directors